Skip to content

New Classification Puts DCHS Sport Teams In 7–A D–1 Region Next Season

Sports Writer

Big changes are in store for Dade County High School athletics next year after the Georgia High School Association Executive Committee recently made changes to how out of district students would be counted in determining enrollment.

The final decision was made due to a large number of private schools indicating they would leave the GHSA, not leaving enough private schools to have a meaningful playoff for state championships.

Under the new guidelines the 3.0 multiplier (all students out of district are multiplied by three) will be applied to all schools in the old single A classification.

The schools most affected by this change are city schools such as Gordon Lee. Of their 428 students 272 reside outside Chickamauga so they are multiplied by three giving them a classification enrollment number of 972.

When all discussion was done, and reclassifications were determined schools had a week to appeal their new classification and region they would be playing in.

The results put Dade County in 7-A D-1 (A classification has D-1 and D-2, larger and smaller schools).

Dade County’s new region will now consist of Armuchee, Chattooga, Coosa, Dalton Academy, Darlington, Pepperell and Trion high schools.

Dalton Academy does not compete in football, but all the other schools do. Trion appealed to move from AA to 7-A D-2 and was denied but was allowed to move to 7-A D-1.

Pepperell was moved down as was Darlington due to some schools moving up in classification.

Dade County’s old Region 7-AA now consists of Fannin County, Gordon Central, Haralson County, Model, Murray County, North Murray and Rockmart.

This will be the region alignment for the next two years, starting with the fall 2022 sports season.

Leave a Comment