Skip to content

Trenton-Dade Optimist Club hosts first meeting since COVID-19 pandemic

The Trenton – Dade Optimist Club held its first meeting since the outbreak of COVID-19 on June 23 at Guthrie’s restaurant.


The first new business item discussed at the meeting was the decision to allocate a total of $3,000 in unused funds into the creation of three $1,000 scholarships to provide to three Dade High School Class of 2020 graduates. The recipients of the scholarships were Kenneth Jones, who will attend the University of Alabama, Ashley Sarwar, who will attend Dalton State College and Dylan Fritz, who will attend North Western College in Gwinnett County.


A Nominations Committee report followed stating that the Board of Directors approved a “full slate” of candidates seeking to be Optimist Club Officers in 2021. No new nominations were named at the meeting and a vote was made to approve the nominees.


The current nominees are Connie Webb for President, Andrew Smith for Vice President, Rena Hammond for Vice President, Angi Easter for Secretary, Malissa Bowman for Treasurer and Don Townsend for Foundation Representative.

Leave a Comment