Skip to content

Early Voting Gets Underway Monday

News Editor

Early voting for the Georgia Primary Election starts Monday, May 2. The ballot includes the local races for Dade County Commissioners and Dade County Board of Education members.

Lamar Lowery, North Dade District 1 Commissioner, and Phillip Hartline, Sand Mountain District 2 Commissioner are running for reelection.

Incumbents Lowery and Hartline will each face challengers. Chris Wade is running for the District 1 Commission seat and Patrick Hickey is running for the District 2 Commission seat. Dade County Board of Education members for Districts 1 and 2, Daniel Case and Jennifer Hartline, are both running unopposed.

Early voting will be from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Dade County Administrative Building, in the Commission meeting room. Early voting days are May 2-7, May 9-14, and May 16-20. This includes two Saturdays. There is no voting on Monday, May 23, the day before Election Day.

The General Primary election will be Tuesday, May 24 and the General Primary Runoff election will be June 21, if needed.

Voting will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at all precincts on Election Day. To vote on Election Day, citizens must vote at the precinct where they are registered.

Voting locations include the West Brow Community Center, New Salem Community Center, Wildwood Community Center, New Home Community Center, White Oak Baptist Church, South Dade Community Center and Dade County Administrative Building.

Aside from local races, voters will also be able to vote for many state office positions, including the Governor of Georgia, Lieutenant Governor, U.S. Senators, Secretary of State, 14th Congressional District Representative, and Georgia State Senate District 53.

All offices that will be voted on during the Primary, and the candidates, can be found at the Secretary of State website,

For more information, call the Dade County Board of Elections at (706) 657-8170.

Leave a Comment