Skip to content

DCS announces Teachers of the Year

Dade County Schools announced its 2019-2020 staff award winners during the Aug. 17 monthly Board of Education meeting.


All Teacher of the Year nominees were nominated by their peers and decided by each school’s administrative staff. Nominees for administrative awards such as Administrator of the Year were selected by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Jan Irons Harris and the Board of Education.


Teacher of the Year winners include Ashley Gibson at Davis Elementary School, Jeanna Knox at Dade Elementary School, Brandi Gann at Dade Middle School and Dr. Doug Bailer at Dade County High School.


DCHS Principal James Fahrney said that Bailer is a one of a kind teacher.


“Dr. Bailer is truly a master teacher,” Fahrney said. “His content knowledge is off the charts and he is always looking for new and inventive ways to present material. The kids love his dry sense of humor and are appreciative of his commitment to their success. His fellow teachers love him for his willingness to help in any way possible. As an administrator, I am thankful for his leadership of the science department and his tremendous problem solving skills. He has a tremendous impact both inside his classroom and on the school as a whole.”


 Dade Middle School Principal Michelle Beeler said that Gann is an inspiration to many at the school.


“Teachers of the Year are voted upon by their peers,”Beeler said. “Brandi was chosen because her peers view her as a stellar teacher who puts the needs of students first. She is a visionary who sees the artist in all students.  She inspires students to stretch their imaginations and to reach their full potential.”


Davis Elementary Principal Charity Barton said that Gibson’s drive to connect with students earned her the respect of the entire school – staff and all.


“Ashley Gibson is the Davis Teacher of the Year because she inspires students, teachers, and staff to be the best versions of themselves because she is committed to reaching all of our students no matter their backgrounds or abilities,” Barton said. “She has earned the respect and admiration of her peers, and our school community, because of her dedication to teaching and connecting with her students.”


Dade Elementary School Principal Tracy Blevins said that Knox’s dedication to the school made the decision an easy one.


“Jeanna Knox exemplifies what it means to be a teacher and educator,” Blevins said. “Her love of children and dedication to the faculty and staff at Dade Elementary makes her more than worthy of this honor. I am proud to have Jeanna Knox at Dade Elementary School and as our Teacher of the Year representative.”


Blevins was named Dade County Administrator of the Year.


“She is an exemplary educational leader who continues to raise the bar at her school,” Harris said. “Mrs. Blevins continually seeks innovative ways to intrinsically motivate students. It is a joy for me to work with this gracious lady and respected leader. On behalf of the Board of Education, it is my honor to congratulate Tracy Blevins for being selected as the 2020 Administrator of the Year.”


The Dade County Board of Education was also listed as a finalist for Governance Team of the Year for the second consecutive year.


Leave a Comment